The Baldwin Medal

The Baldwin Medal pays tribute to the late Judge Raymond E. Baldwin ’16, the only man to have held the offices of Connecticut governor, U.S. senator and chief justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court. First awarded September 20, 1981, during the opening convocation of Wesleyan's Sesquicentennial, the Baldwin Medal is the highest honor Wesleyan's alumni body presents for extraordinary service to Wesleyan or for careers and other activities which have contributed significantly to the public good. Recipients are selected by an ad-hoc committee of the Wesleyan University Alumni Association consisting of the Chair of the Association, an Alumni-Elected Trustee appointed by the Chair and the President of Wesleyan University.

John L. Usdan '80, P'15, P'18, P'18
Alan M. Dachs '70, Hon.'07, P'98
William K. Wasch '52, P'84 and  Bruce C. Corwin '62
2011 Robert E. Patricelli ’61, P’88, P’90 and Margaret Sweetland Patricelli
2007 Robert G. McKelvey ’59 and Kofi Appenteng ’81, P’07
2006 Ralph H. Shaw II ’51, P’79 and Jean A. Shaw P’79
2005 John F. Woodhouse ’53 P’79 and David B. Jenkins ’53 P’83
2004 Joseph G. Lynch ’47 GP’14
2003 Theodore M. Shaw ’76
2002 William S. Belichick ’75 P’07
1996 Moira McNamara James ’78 P’10
1994 Steven B. Pfeiffer ’69 P’13
1991 Edgar Frederick Beckham ’58 and Robert L. Kirkpatrick, Jr. ’60
1988 Colin G. Campbell, Nancy Nash Campbell MALS ’80 and Chuck Stone ’48
1987 Walter B. Gerken ’48 P’77
1986 Joseph L. Melnick ’36 GP’90 and Lelan F. Sillin, Jr. ’69 P’77
1985 Robert A. Rosenbaum ’54
1983 John W. Baird ’38 P’78
1982 Edwin D. Etherington ’48 P’84
1981 Kay Butterfield, D. Ronald Daniel ’52 P’81, Burton C. Hallowell ’36, Paul Horgan Hon.’56, John W. Macy, Jr. ’38 P’84 and Carl E. Schorske ’67 P’81


Send an email to